malarchism

I finally decided to stop booting Ubutntu in a Virtual Machine (thanks to Virtual Box) and rather to dual-boot it along with my existing Windows 7. The reason for this being that Ubuntu now runs faster than in a virtual machine, and dual-booting would be the way to go if you consider using Ubuntu quite often.

I burned the 11.10 image onto a disc and installed it from there. I didn’t partion my hard-drive before hand (although I ensured that I had a backup), but rather partioned it through Ubuntu, as it gives you an option to install it alongside Windows and even offers options at the end of the installation for importing documents and Firefox settings.

Ironically, and much to my dismay, Ubuntu was ridiculously slow on startup. Drawing a rectangle on the desktop resulted in huge lag as the shaded shape slowly filled the screen. Turns out the…

View original post 218 more words

One response »

  1. Malarchist says:

    thanks for the reblog

Leave a Reply

